Posted by: Anna | April 1, 2011

Fast Food

Brandon and I both work full time. For the most part either him or I cook everyday, or both of us will cook.  Brandon is also the simplest man I know. Ever.  Per his request we had eggs, bacon and veggies for dinner one day after a workout.  Talk about easy.

Cooking for me has to be easy.

One, because I’m a horrible multitasker.

Two, by the time we get home, we and the kids are hungry and eating out isn’t an option for us. It isn’t healthy for us or our kids. So we cook.

My mom bragged about some amazing meatballs the other day and so last night, when I had to cook few lbs of organic grass fed ground beef to cook I phoned her.  Not only did this meal include and hidden veggies (minced of course) it took me about 20 mintues total to cook.

Note: I rarely follow directions or a recipe to tee. I always take away something (because I don’t have the patience to look for it) or I add something.

I added one egg to this so the meat stuck together more.

I minced or very thinly chopped half a white onion, two carrots and two celery sticks.

I added, salt, pepper, basil, and garlic powder.  About 1/2 a teaspoon of each to taste.

I smush it all up and made them into meatballs.

I used about 1 lb or a little bit more of ground beef.

Put on cookie sheet.

Preheat oven to 350 and then bake for 17 mins.

They were actually very good. And dinner was ready in no time, as was my lunch.

Eating healthy takes work, so the key for us is making lots more so there is always something healthy handy to eat. In order for me to eat better, I have to have stuff premade in the fridge and sorted.

For example: Washed and cut fruit and cooked veggies.  Salad.  Some protein.

Here is what my lunch looked like. I also had about a cup of strawberries too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

