Posted by: Anna | November 23, 2010

Happy Birthday Little Sister

When my sister was born, twenty three years ago, I was very excited.  I just knew she was going to be a girl, despite all of my uncles taunting me that she would be a boy.

I wanted a sister.

After five years of being the only child, my mom and I wore matching dresses when she was pregnant.  And when I woke up looking for my parents on that day, I found house full of uncles ready to spoil me rotten until I got to meet my brother!

Well, my dad finally picked me up and took me to the hospital.  I wish I could remember what I was wearing, but I don’t. I don’t remember seeing my mom on that day either. I just remember my dad holding me up and pointing to my little sister.  Sweet chubby face and little white dots on her nose.  That is what I told my dad.  She was swaddled in a blankie with a little beanie on, being born a couple of days before Thanksgiving.

I had gotten my way and I got a little sister.

I couldn’t wait to hold either.  To teach her everything I know.

I remember having to wash my hands, up to my elbows just so my mom would let me hold her.  But then my hands were to cold that my mom put a towel over my arms and placed my little sister in my arms.

My next memories of her care of me crying because she was pulling the heads off of all my Barbies and destroying everything!!!

My sister and I began fighting since before I can remember.  We were very good and taunting each other and she was of course my little shadow.  And in order for me not to get into trouble I wouldn’t hit her back as much, that my friend would leave a scar. I would pull her hair.

Yet, at night we often shared a bed.  We felt safe together.

My sister and I have always been different.  I am the oldest, the protector, and the one with the thickest skin.  She was the baby, the middle child, the sensitive one who was always there when I cried.

My sister was there when I found out I was pregnant.  She was there thru my freak-out and told me this…

“I am glad it was you and not me.”

Ha ha ha.

In my darkest times, she was there, quietly, holding my hand, letting me cry.

She is loud, sweet, endearing, strong and loving.  My son and I haven’t seen her for over a year.  She joined the Army, moved to Alaska and got married.

We both have met the love of our lives and haven’t met them yet.  There are things you can tell your sister that you can’t share with anyone else.  Your sister will not judge you.  Sister’s just love you.  And I miss my sister.  Life has changed, we are adults and she is far away.  Yet, we talk all the time on the phone and if our voice is the only thing the other person needs to hear to feel better, then that is what we do.

Joey knows who she is, and she calls all the time, he even rolls his eyes, and is like…
“Yes, I know who Tia Janet is!”

Of course, you don’t forget a heart like my sisters.

So today on your bday Janet. Happy Birthday.  It was 23 years ago that I had my way when God let me have a little sister. I love you. I’m proud of you and thank you.

Before she left to the Army

Responses

  1. I love this…it brought tears to my eyes just thinking about my own sister. (: beautifully written anna!

  2. My God Baby!! you are so beautifull! I’m so proud of you!! Really it make my eyes watery! I love that you an Jeannette are best friends!! Finally! Thank you God!!!God Bless you My love!! I love you 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. Annie, what an endearing post! It melted my heart away and brought back sweet memories of my little gift. God answered my prayers 18 years ago and gave me a little brother. Now, we are filling out college applications and in 9 days will celebrate his 18th birthday. Thank you for sharing! ~ Terry


Leave a Reply

Categories

